Statutory framework


The Energy Industry Act [EnWG] defines the statutory framework for natural gas conversion and determines the rights and duties of grid operators and consumers.

Laws and background

All the details for conversion of the natural gas supply are set out in the Energy Industry Act [EnWG], which has assigned implementation of the conversion process to grid operators. Under §19a EnWG, each grid operator must carry out “the necessary technical adaptations to the grid connections, customer equipment and consumer appliances at the operator’s own expense”. You can find the complete text of the Act here.

Rights and duties

During the natural gas conversion period between 2018 and 2029, all natural gas appliances will need to be surveyed and technically adapted. For this, all natural gas customers and consumers (tenants and property owners) will need to give the technicians contracted by ErdgasUmstellung access to the sites and premises containing the appliances to be adapted.

We will give each natural gas customer three weeks’ notice in writing (by letter or public notice) of the visit for which such access will be needed. When visiting your premises, every ErdgasUmstellung employee will be able to identify himself by presenting his works identity card and a letter of authorisation and by quoting your personal identification number (PIN). You can find this PIN in our covering letters about the survey or adaptation visit. The right of access and duty to present identification are set out in §19a (4) EnWG.

Financial support under the Energy Industry Act [EnWG]

If you, as an owner of a natural gas appliance, install a new appliance during the market area conversion that does not need to be adapted to use H gas, you can claim a cost refund: under certain conditions you can claim €100 from Rheinische NETZGesellschaft mbH for each new appliance. Here, you can download the relevant refund application form plus explanations.

The conditions are:

  • Installation of the new appliance takes place after publication of the technical conversion date by the grid operator and before adaptation of the existing consumer appliance to the new natural gas quality in the respective grid area. About two years beforehand, ErdgasUmstellung will send you a briefing letter showing your technical conversion date.
  • The owner must demonstrate to the grid operator that the old appliance has been used properly and that the new appliance has been obtained.

You can find more information on this in our FAQs and on the website of the Federal Grid Agency. We are also happy to answer your questions on our free helpline on 0800 4698 444 (Mon – Fri, 07:00 to 20:00 hours and Sat, 08:00 to 16:00 hours) or by e-mail – info@meine-erdgasumstellung.de.

Responsible authority

The federal authority has laid down the details of the market area conversion in §19a Energy Industry Act. As the competent regulatory body, the Federal Grid Agency oversees implementation of the statutory provisions. As a German federal authority with its head offices in Bonn, it comes within the remit of the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy [Bundeswirtschaftsministerium]. During the conversion process, the Federal Grid Agency ensures that the process proceeds transparently and acts as an important link and source of information between all the parties involved in the market area conversion.

Bundesnetzagentur für Elektrizität, Telekommunikation, Post und Eisenbahnen [BNetzA] (Federal Grid Agency for Electricity, Telecommunications, Postal Services and Railways)
Tulpenfeld 4
53113 Bonn
Tel: 0228 / 14-0
info@bnetza.de
www.bundesnetzagentur.de

My conversion

Step-by-step explanation: All the information on the background, procedures and statutory framework to your natural gas conversion.

more

Questions & Answers

Do you have other questions about the conversion work of ErdgasUmstellung? You will find further detailed information in our FAQ section.

more

Safety notes

Your safety is our highest priority. This is how to recognise our technicians - and protect yourself against confidence tricksters.

more

Contacts

All contact information for consumers and press representatives and our free helpline number.

more
Scroll to top

Gesetzlicher Rahmen


Das Energiewirtschaftsgesetz (EnWG) definiert den gesetzlichen Rahmen der Erdgasumstellung und bestimmt die Rechte und Pflichten von Netzbetreibern und Verbrauchern.

Gesetze und Hintergründe

Alle Details zur Umstellung der Erdgasversorgung sind im Energiewirtschaftsgesetz (EnWG) geregelt, das den Netzbetreibern die Durchführung des Umstellungsprozesses zugewiesen hat. Nach § 19a EnWG muss jeder Netzbetreiber in seinem Netzgebiet „die notwendigen technischen Anpassungen der Netzanschlüsse, Kundenanlagen und Verbrauchsgeräte auf eigene Kosten“ vornehmen. Den vollständigen Gesetzestext finden Sie hier.

Rechte und Pflichten

Im Zeitraum der Erdgasumstellung zwischen 2018 und 2029 müssen alle Erdgasgeräte erhoben und technisch angepasst werden. Hierzu müssen alle Anschlussnehmer und Anschlussnutzer (Mieter sowie Eigentümer) den von der ErdgasUmstellung beauftragten Technikern Zutritt zum Grundstück und den Räumen gewähren, in denen sich die anzupassenden Geräte befinden.

Jeder Erdgaskunde wird drei Wochen vor dem Betretungstermin schriftlich (per Brief oder Aushang) von uns benachrichtigt. Beim Besuch vor Ort kann sich jeder Mitarbeiter der ErdgasUmstellung mit einem Dienstausweis, einem Legitimationsschreiben sowie über die Nennung Ihrer persönlichen Identifikationsnummer (PIN) identifizieren. Diese PIN finden Sie in unseren Anschreiben zum Erhebungs- bzw. Anpassungsbesuch. Das Zutrittsrecht und die Ausweispflicht sind im §19a Abs. 4 EnWG festgeschrieben.

Förderung gemäß Energiewirtschaftsgesetz (EnWG)

Wenn Sie als Eigentümer eines Erdgasgeräts im Rahmen der Marktraumumstellung ein Neugerät installieren, das nicht mehr an H-Gas angepasst werden muss, haben Sie einen Kostenerstattungsanspruch: Unter bestimmten Bedingungen können Sie für jedes Neugerät gegenüber der Rheinischen NETZGesellschaft mbH einen Betrag von 100€ geltend machen. Den entsprechenden Erstattungsantrag inkl. Erläuterungen finden Sie hier zum Download.

Bedingungen sind:

  • Die Installation des Neugeräts erfolgt nach der Veröffentlichung des technischen Umstellungstermins durch den Netzbetreiber und vor der Anpassung des vorhandenen Verbrauchsgeräts auf die neue Erdgasbeschaffenheit im jeweiligen Netzgebiet. Ihr technischer Umstellungstermin wird Ihnen in einem Informationsschreiben etwa zwei Jahre vorab von der ErdgasUmstellung zugestellt.
  • Der Eigentümer muss gegenüber dem Netzbetreiber die ordnungsgemäße Verwendung des Altgeräts und die Anschaffung des Neugeräts nachweisen.

Mehr Informationen hierzu finden Sie in unseren FAQ und auf der Website der Bundesnetzagentur. Fragen beantworten wir Ihnen zudem gerne über unsere kostenfreie Helpline unter 0800 4698 444 (Mo.-Fr., 7-20 Uhr und Sa., 8-16 Uhr) oder per E-Mail an info@meine-erdgasumstellung.de .

Zuständige Behörde

In Deutschland sind die Details der Marktraumumstellung Erdgas im §19a Energiewirtschaftsgesetz geregelt. Für die praktische Umsetzung der gesetzlichen Vorgaben ist die Bundesnetzagentur zuständig. Sie sorgt für transparenten Ablauf der Marktraumumstellung und ist Informationsstelle für alle Beteiligten. Die Bundesnetzagentur ist eine obere Bundesbehörde im Geschäftsbereich des Bundeswirtschaftsministeriums.

Bundesnetzagentur für Elektrizität, Gas, Telekommunikation, Post und Eisenbahnen (BNetzA)
Tulpenfeld 4
53113 Bonn
Telefon: 0228 / 14-0
info@bnetza.de
www.bundesnetzagentur.de

Meine Umstellung

Schritt für Schritt erklärt: Alle Infos zum Hintergrund, Ablauf und gesetzlichen Rahmen Ihrer Erdgasumstellung

mehr

Fragen & Antworten

Sie haben noch Fragen zur Erdgasumstellung? In unseren FAQs finden Sie weitere ausführliche Informationen

mehr

Sicherheitshinweise

Ihre Sicherheit hat für uns höchste Priorität: So erkennen Sie unsere Monteure und schützen sich vor Trickbetrügern

mehr

Ansprechpartner

Alle Kontaktdaten für Verbraucher und Pressevertreter sowie die Nummer unserer kostenfreien Helpline

mehr
Scroll to top