Background


Turn L into H: L gas resources are becoming depleted and H gas is the future-proof alternative. The Rhineland's natural gas supply is also being gradually converted to H gas.

Why does the natural gas need to be converted?

The natural gas that you are currently being supplied with in our distribution area comes mainly from sources in the Netherlands. In the medium term, natural gas extraction in that country is declining, with the result that this country is gradually turning to natural gas mainly from Norway and Russia. These sources are reliable over the long term.

Natural gas is a natural product and contains different levels of energy depending on where it is found. Natural gas from the Netherlands is called L gas (L stands for ‘low’ and has a lower energy content) and natural gas from Norway or Russia is called H gas (H stands for ‘high’ because it has a higher energy content).

The conversion process from L gas to H gas, known as ‘market area conversion’, has been under way throughout the German gas supply industry since 2015. This affects north and west Germany, which has been supplied with natural gas from the Netherlands from the mid-1960s. Between 2020 and 2029, the Rhineland will also gradually convert from the increasingly scarce L gas to the future-proof H gas.

All appliances running on natural gas in domestic and commercial premises – for example, heating systems or natural gas cookers – will need to be adapted technically to allow them to run safely on H gas. The grid area of Rheinische NETZGesellschaft mbH (RNG) has around 500,000 of these appliances.

Who will carry out the natural gas conversion?

Surveying, adapting and quality control of all natural gas appliances will be carried out by specific certificated specialist companies on behalf of ErdgasUmstellung, an RNG brand. Every natural gas customer will be informed in writing about forthcoming dates, personal visits by the technicians and any necessary work. When visiting your premises, every ErdgasUmstellung employee will be able to identify himself by presenting his works identity card and a letter of authorisation and by quoting your personal identification number (PIN). You can find this PIN in our covering letters about the survey or adaptation visit.

What costs will I incur?

Generally speaking, you will not incur any direct costs as a result of the natural gas conversion. We will undertake adaptation of your natural gas appliances for you and the costs will be carried by RNG as your responsible distribution grid operator. Subsequently, the costs will be distributed among all natural gas customers throughout Germany on the solidarity principle and recharged through the grid usage charge. This is the procedure prescribed in the legislation. As regards everyday use, nothing will change for you because of the conversion to the new H gas. You will use your natural gas appliances in the same way as before.

My conversion

Step-by-step explanation: All the information on the background, procedures and statutory framework to your natural gas conversion.

more

Questions & Answers

Do you have other questions about the conversion work of ErdgasUmstellung? You will find further detailed information in our FAQ section.

more

Safety notes

Your safety is our highest priority. This is how to recognise our technicians - and protect yourself against confidence tricksters.

more

Contacts

All contact information for consumers and press representatives and our free helpline number.

more
Scroll to top

Hintergrund


Aus L mach H: Das L-Gas wird knapp, das H-Gas ist die zukunftssichere Alternative. Auch im Rheinland wird jetzt die Erdgasversorgung schrittweise auf H-Gas umgestellt.

Warum muss das Erdgas umgestellt werden?

Das Erdgas, mit dem Sie derzeit in unserem Netzgebiet versorgt werden, stammt hauptsächlich aus Quellen in den Niederlanden. Da die Förderung dort mittelfristig zurückgeht, wird es hierzulande nach und nach durch Erdgas vor allem aus Norwegen und Russland ersetzt. Diese Quellen sind langfristig gesichert.

Erdgas ist ein Naturprodukt und hat je nach Lagervorkommen einen unterschiedlichen Energiegehalt: Erdgas aus den Niederlanden wird als L-Gas (L steht für „low“ und kennzeichnet einen niedrigeren Energiegehalt) und Erdgas aus Norwegen oder Russland als H-Gas bezeichnet (H steht für „high“, also energiereicheres Erdgas).

Bereits seit 2015 läuft die sogenannte Marktraumumstellung der gesamtdeutschen Erdgasversorgung von L-Gas auf H-Gas. Sie betrifft den nord- und westdeutschen Raum, der ab Mitte der 1960er Jahre mit Erdgas aus den Niederlanden versorgt worden ist. Auch im Rheinland wird zwischen 2020 und 2029 schrittweise vom immer knapper werdenden L-Gas auf das zukunftssichere H-Gas umgestellt.

Alle erdgasbetriebenen Geräte in Haushalten und Unternehmen, beispielsweise Heizungsanlagen oder Erdgasherde, müssen technisch angepasst werden, um das H-Gas sicher nutzen zu können – im Netzgebiet der Rheinischen NETZGesellschaft mbH (RNG) sind das insgesamt rund 500.000 Geräte.

Wer führt die Erdgasumstellung durch?

Die Erhebung, Anpassung und die Qualitätssicherung aller Erdgasgeräte erfolgt durch spezialisierte und zertifizierte Fachunternehmen im Auftrag der ErdgasUmstellung, einer Marke der RNG. Jeder Erdgaskunde wird schriftlich über anstehende Termine, persönliche Besuche der Techniker und notwendige Arbeiten informiert. Beim Besuch vor Ort kann sich jeder Mitarbeiter der ErdgasUmstellung mit einem Dienstausweis, einem Legitimationsschreiben sowie über die Nennung Ihrer persönlichen Identifikationsnummer (PIN) identifizieren. Diese PIN finden Sie in unseren Anschreiben zum Erhebungs- bzw. Anpassungsbesuch.

Welche Kosten entstehen für mich?

Im Regelfall entstehen für Sie im Zuge der Erdgasumstellung keinerlei direkte Kosten. Die Anpassung Ihrer Erdgasgeräte übernehmen wir für Sie und die Kosten werden von der RNG als Ihrem zuständigen Verteilnetzbetreiber getragen. Nach dem Solidarprinzip werden die Kosten abschließend auf alle Erdgaskunden in ganz Deutschland umgelegt und über das Netzentgelt verrechnet. So hat es der Gesetzgeber festgelegt. Im Alltag ändert sich mit der Umstellung auf das neue H-Gas nichts für Sie: Der Umgang mit Ihren Erdgasgeräten bleibt gleich.

Meine Umstellung

Schritt für Schritt erklärt: Alle Infos zum Hintergrund, Ablauf und gesetzlichen Rahmen Ihrer Erdgasumstellung

mehr

Fragen & Antworten

Sie haben noch Fragen zur Erdgasumstellung? In unseren FAQs finden Sie weitere ausführliche Informationen

mehr

Sicherheitshinweise

Ihre Sicherheit hat für uns höchste Priorität: So erkennen Sie unsere Monteure und schützen sich vor Trickbetrügern

mehr

Ansprechpartner

Alle Kontaktdaten für Verbraucher und Pressevertreter sowie die Nummer unserer kostenfreien Helpline

mehr
Scroll to top